nutrition & allergy info

information on
allergies ~ alcohol ~ vegan ~ diabetic

We want you to know everything that is in all of our chocolate products.

Click here for nutritional charts directly from the chocolate factory website of
or phone the factory direct at 1-800-661-8367
or email at

Allergy Alert

All our chocolate products will contain traces of nuts, dairy, soy, peanuts, wheat, and sunflower oil.  We want everyone to enjoy our chocolate products, but you must avoid eating any if you have any type of food allergy. We can build you a box of chocolates with no added nuts or dairy or wheat (as part of that particular chocolate's recipe), but we cannot guarantee it will be free of traces of nuts, dairy, soy, peanuts, wheat, and sunflower oil.


Many of our chocolates have a small amount of liqueur to enhance the chocolate flavour. None have an overpowering liqueur taste -- the alcohol is smoothly blended with the ganache or praline.
If you cannot have any alcohol in your diet for health or religious reasons, we can build you a box that is guaranteed to be alcohol-free. Click here to see our various boxes of zero-alcohol chocolates



Are you a vegan for  (a) health reasons, or  (b) ethical reasons?
(a) If you're a vegan for health reasons -- yes, we have a few chocolate items that have no added dairy as part its recipe, though all will contain traces. Here are a few: dark Caraque, bittersweet wafers, extra-dark daily squares, our dark-chocolate couverture baking bars.
(b) If you're a vegan for ethical reasons -- no, we support the dairy industry and will be giving some of your money to dairy producers.


"Diabetic" chocolate?

This is an oft-asked question and we usually start our answer with a question: what do you mean by "diabetic" chocolate? If you mean low sugar: yes, all of our chocolates are high in cocoa content and natural ingredients, low in natural sugar.  Even our individual chocolates only have 2-4 grams of natural sugar per chocolate. For sugar-reduced diets, we recommend our thin, bite-size 80% cocoa bittersweet wafers which weigh 15 grams each and are 30 calories per wafer [click here].  The one and only chocolate product which is 100% sugar-free is our container of pure cocoa powder [click here]. If we completely removed the low amount of natural sugar from our chocolates, we'd have to add artificial sweeteners and chemicals -- which we'll never do.  As you may know, all of our chocolate products contain only natural ingredients: high cocoa content, low sugar content, no artificial ingredients or additives or chemical compounds or preservatives.